The Global Study Awards is a competition for successful IELTS test takers who have shown exceptional promise. You can enter the competition if you plan to use your IELTS results to apply for an undergraduate or postgraduate degree in an English-speaking country. 

What are The Global Study Awards?

The Global Study Awards were launched in 2015 by the British Council, the International Student Identity Card Association and StudyPortals.

The awards recognise successful IELTS test takers, helping the most promising ones gain an undergraduate or postgraduate degree that will help them bring about positive change. 

Since the awards began, 13 winners have received funding of up to £10,000 to support their studies overseas.

Who can enter The Global Study Awards?

The Global Study Awards are designed for highly motivated, talented individuals who have been successful in their IELTS test. It is open to IELTS test takers from any part of the world. 

You’re eligible to enter The Global Study Awards if you’re over 18, plan to study abroad on an undergraduate or postgraduate course, and have shown:

  • the potential to contribute to society through your studies
  • a strong commitment to developing your career
  • a sincere interest in increasing intercultural coherence.

How does it work?

Each year, two winners are selected to receive the award. Each of the Global Study Awards is merit-based and is aimed at students who plan to enrol in a full-time undergraduate or postgraduate programme in any country worldwide.

The prize will be applied towards the winner’s tuition fees and will be paid directly to the higher education institution where you plan to study. 

If the tuition fees are below the maximum individual award fund of £10,000, we may allocate the remaining funds towards your living costs for a maximum of 52 weeks, starting from when you first registered at the institution.