Find out about results

IELTS assessment criteria

The IELTS 9-band scoring system is used to measure and report scores in a consistent manner. Examiners are trained in line with globally agreed standards to ensure consistency in the quality of their assessment.

Your IELTS test will be marked using our tried and tested assessment criteria. 

Listening and Reading tests scoring

IELTS Listening and Reading tests both contain 40 items. Each correct item is awarded one mark.

Writing and Speaking tests scoring

Examiners use detailed performance markers when assessing the Writing and Speaking tests. These markers, called band descriptors, describe your written and spoken performance in four areas:

  • task achievement
  • coherence and cohesion
  • lexical resource
  • grammatical range and accuracy

Download details of band descriptors for the Writing and Speaking tests to learn more about how the Writing and Speaking tests are marked.